Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Processing of Marks

After marking is completed, various processes are adopted to ensure that the marks awarded by markers, the marks in different optional parts and the marks of different papers are fair and comparable before they are aggregated to form the subject mark.
From raw mark to subject mark
After the completion of marking, the mark statistics of each marker’s batch of scripts are checked. Coupled with evidence gathered from checkmarking, appropriate actions such as mark adjustment or remarking are taken to rectify marking that is too lenient, strict or erratic. These processes give rise to the adjusted mark.

In some subjects where there are optional sections or papers, the adjusted marks of the optional parts may be equated so that the performance of candidates choosing different options can be reflected on the same scale. This process gives rise to the equated mark. One example is found in English Language Paper 1 (Reading) and Paper 3 (Listening & Integrated Skills) where all candidates must do Part A and choose either Part B1 (easier section) or Part B2 (more difficult section). To assess the performance of candidates choosing different sections on the same scale, each mark in the scale of the easier section will be converted to an equivalent mark in the more difficult section.

After mark adjustment and, if applicable, mark equating, the adjusted / equated marks of each question / section achieved by a candidate in an examination paper are then added up according to their relative weightings to form the paper mark.

If a subject consists of two or more examination papers, the adjusted marks (or equated marks if applicable) of individual examination papers are converted to the same scale, taking into account the spread of marks in different papers and the published paper weightings, to form the weighted paper marks. This is done because the overall performance of candidates, in terms of the mean and spread of adjusted marks, may be different across the examination papers for a subject and so these marks are not directly comparable with each other (Please click here for details of the relevant example). The weighted paper marks for each examination paper represent the final marks for each candidate, and are added together forming the subject mark for subjects with no School-based Assessment (SBA).

Subjects with School-based Assessment (SBA)

For subjects with SBA, the SBA marks submitted by schools are moderated to iron out possible differences in marking standards among teachers, and the mean and spread of marks of a school are adjusted (click here for details). Because of this, the SBA marks can be directly combined with the weighted examination paper marks for a subject, with no further conversion, in accordance with the prescribed weightings to achieve the subject mark for each candidate.

For subjects with both component and subject results reported, the subject mark is the sum of all the component marks. For components comprising one examination paper and the SBA, the weighted paper marks of the constituent paper and the moderated SBA marks are added up to form the component mark according to their weighting as stipulated in the Assessment Framework. If the component consists of only one paper, the component mark is the same as the weighted paper mark.

SBA results are not separately reported in the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education. However, profile reporting is adopted for Chinese Language, English Language and Combined Science. The SBA results of these subjects will be reported together with the relevant examination paper in the component concerned.

Below is a summary of the various processes adopted in the processing of marks described above:

Process Mark generated Remarks
Marking Raw mark Marks given by marker(s).
Mark adjustment Adjusted mark Marks awarded by markers are adjusted, if necessary, to rectify lenient, strict or erratic marking.
Mark equating (if applicable) Equated mark Marks of one optional part are equated to those of another optional part (e.g. in English Language Paper 1 (Reading) and Paper 3 (Listening & Integrated Skills), marks of the easier section are converted to equivalent marks in the more difficult section).
Forming paper mark Paper mark After adjustment / equating, marks of all questions / sections within a paper are added up according to the weighting of the questions / sections in the paper.
Forming weighted paper mark Weighted paper mark Marks of different papers are converted to the same comparable scale, taking into account the spread of marks in different papers and the published paper weightings, before they are combined to form the subject mark.
Forming component mark* Component mark For components with only one paper, the component mark is the same as the weighted paper mark. For components consisting of one examination paper and the SBA^, the component mark is the sum of the weighted paper mark and the moderated SBA mark according to their weighting as stipulated in the Assessment Framework.
Forming subject mark Subject mark The subject mark is the sum of the weighted paper marks and the moderated SBA marks (if applicable). During the grading process, the subject level is determined based on the subject mark. Please click here for details regarding the grading process.

For English Language, Chinese Language and Combined Science, the subject mark is the sum of the marks of all the components. The subject level of these subjects is not simply the average of the component levels but is also based on the candidate’s subject mark.

* Applicable only to English Language, Chinese Language and Combined Science, where component results are reported in addition to the subject result.

^ Component 4 (Speaking) of English Language comprises the results of Paper 4 and the SBA, Component 3 (Listening and Integrated Skills) of Chinese Language comprises the results of Paper 3 and the SBA, while each component of Combined Science comprises the results of the written examination and the SBA of the half-subject concerned.

 

 

 

HKEAA Logo

跳至主要内容 跳至浏览

分数处理

为确保不同阅卷员的评分、不同选答部分的得分,以及不同卷别得分的公平及可比性,各考生的答卷于评卷完成后,其得分会经多个程序处理,才相加成为科目得分。
从基本得分计算出科目得分

完成评卷后,我们对每名阅卷员名下所有考生的得分进行统计分析,并检视其核卷的结果。若发现个别阅卷员的评分过宽、过紧,或宽紧不一,其名下的答卷,便需要作分数调整或重新评改。经过以上程序后便会产生调整得分

某些科目设有选答部分或卷别,该些选答部分的调整得分或须作等值处理,以确保选答不同部分或卷别的考生表现能以划一的尺度来比较。经过这过程后便会产生等值得分。以英国语文科卷一(阅读)与卷三(聆听及综合能力考核)为例,考生须作答A部分的必答题和选答B1部分(较易部分)或B2部分(较难部分)的题目。为了以划一的尺度评核选答不同部分考生的表现,较易部分的分数会被转换成一个与较难部分可比的等值分数。

经分数调整和等值(如适用)后,考生于每份卷别内所有分题、分部的调整得分或等值得分,会按它们于该卷所占的比重相加,合成卷别得分

若同一科有两份或以上卷别,考虑到各卷的分数分布范围及公布的比重,各卷的调整得分(或等值得分,如适用)需转换至同一尺度,成为加权卷别得分。这样做是由于整体考生于同一科目各卷别的表现未必相同,各卷的平均得分及分数分布范围亦有差异,因此各卷的得分不能直接比较(请按此浏览有关例子)。每卷的加权卷别得分是每位考生于各卷的最终得分。若有关科目未有校本评核,则各卷加权卷别得分的总和便是科目得分

设有校本评核的科目

就设有校本评核的科目而言,学校呈交的校本评核分数会按有关的机制进行调整,以消弭教师评分的差异(详情可按此),当中涉及调整其平均分及分数分布范围。因此,调整后的校本评核分数可与该科各卷的加权卷别得分直接按公布的比重相加成为科目得分,无需另作转换。

需要同时汇报分部成绩及科目成绩的科目,科目得分是所有分部得分的总和。若分部由一卷及校本评核组成,其分部得分便会由该卷的加权卷别得分与调整后的校本评核分数按评核大纲所列的比重相加而成;若分部只有一卷,其分部得分即是加权卷别得分。

香港中学文凭并不会独立汇报校本评核的成绩,惟中国语文科、英国语文科及组合科学科的校本评核成绩会与有关试卷的成绩一并于个别分部内汇报。

下表概括以上分数处理时所进行的不同程序:

程序 所得分数 备注
评分 基本得分 阅卷员给予的分数。
分数调整 调整得分 若发现个别阅卷员的评分过宽、过紧,或宽紧不一,其评分会被调整。
分数等值(如适用) 等值得分 把某选答部分的分数转换成与另一选答部分等值的分数(以英国语文科卷一(阅读)及卷三(聆听及综合能力考核)为例,较易部分的分数会转换成一个与较难部分可比的等值分数)。
合成卷别得分 卷别得分 经分数调整和等值后,考生于每份卷别内所有分题 / 分部的调整得分或等值得分,会按它们于该卷所占的比重相加。
合成加权卷别得分 加权卷别得分 考虑到各卷的分数分布范围及公布的比重,各卷的得分需转换至同一尺度,成为加权卷别得分后,才相加成科目得分。
合成分部得分* 分部得分 若分部只有一卷,分部得分即是加权卷别得分。若分部由一卷及校本评核^组成,其分部得分便会由该卷的加权卷别得分与调整后的校本评核分数按评核大纲所列的比重相加而成。
合成科目得分 科目得分 科目得分是加权卷别得分及调整后的校本评核分数(如适用)的总和。评级时,科目的等级是根据科目总分来评定。请按此浏览有关评级的详情。

英国语文、中国语文及组合科学的科目得分是各分部得分的总和。这些科目的科目等级并不是各分部等级的平均值,而是同样根据考生的科目总分来评定。

* 只适用于同时汇报分部成绩及科目成绩的科目,包括英国语文、中国语文及组合科学。

^ 英国语文分部四(说话能力)的成绩由试卷四与校本评核的成绩组成,中国语文分部三(聆听及综合能力考核)的成绩由试卷三与校本评核的成绩组成,而组合科学每个分部的成绩则由相关半科的笔试成绩及校本评核成绩组成。

 

 

 

HKEAA Logo